East Liverpool City Health District

Mercy Health Dental Van Dates
January 2024 Nurses Report
Mercy Health Mobile Mammography Dates

Contact Information

East Liverpool City Health District
126 West 6th Street
East Liverpool, OH 43920

Main Office:
Phone: (330) 385-7900
Press 1 for Vital Statistics
Press 2 for Nursing
Press 3 for Environmental Health 
Press 4 for Housing
Press 5 for All Other Questions 

Email: health@eastliverpool.com
Email: registrar@eastliverpool.com
Fax: (330) 386-7403

Community Health Nurse:
Mary Beth Jones
Direct Line: (330) 385-5123
Email: healthnurse@eastliverpool.com
Fax: (330) 386-7404

Environmental Health:
Shawn Blair
Direct Line: (330) 932-3367
Email: s.blair@eastliverpool.com
Fax: (330) 386-7403


Housing Inspectors:
Amy Toot
Email: housing@eastliverpool.com
Matt Devlin
Email: housing2@eastliverpool.com
Fax: (330) 386-7406

Business Hours:
Main Office:
Monday-Friday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Monday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Thursday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Friday 9:00am – 4:00pm
(Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm)
Community Health:
Monday-Thursday 9:00am – 2:00pm
Environmental Health:
Monday-Friday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Monday-Friday 8:00am – 4:00pm (Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm) 

TTY (teletypewriter) service available by dialing

For after hours public health emergencies, communicable disease reporting, food-borne Illnesses, and environmental health hazard reporting, please call the East Liverpool Police Department at (330) 385-1234 and the on-call 24/7 public health official will be notified.

Enter on the left side of the building (facing the front of City Hall) at the second door for elevator access . Press 1 on the elevator for the Health District office floor. The first floor is considered the Lobby.


The Community Action Rural Transit System (CARTS) enables county residents to have access to health care, school, shopping, employment, public services, and recreational opportunities. CARTS provides daily demand transit services throughout the county. Contact them at (330) 424-4015 or for more information check out their website here.

Health District Divisions/Laws

Community Health

Environmental Health

Vital Statistics

Public Health Laws

About Us

Local Health Districts:

Local Health Districts were established by ORC Chapter 3709. Powers and duties of Boards of Health and Health Commissioners are outlined in ORC Chapter 3707.

Each health district is a separate political subdivision, similar to a school district, with an appointed Board of Health. Each district has a Health Commissioner who reports to the Board of Health. There are general health districts (county), city health districts and combined health districts (county and city). There are currently 112 districts in Ohio.

Mission Statement:

To improve the quality of life by promoting healthy lifestyles, preventing disease, and protecting the people we serve.


Safety and good health for the people of our community


  • Quality: We are dedicated to standard of excellence in providing public health services by continuous quality improvement.
  • Collaboration: We are committed to being a supportive and communicative team member to our community partners by fostering positive relationships and optimizing our combined experiences and expertise.
  • Integrity: We hold ourselves to high ethical standards in all our actions and relationships.
  • Respect: We treat everyone with equal value, dignity, and compassion.

Board of Health:

Bobby Smith – Board President
Carl Covert – Vice President
Jeff Caldwell, DMD – Board Member
John Dawson, M.S.N., RN – Board Member
Teresa Crawford, RN – Board Member
Kevin Kerr – Board Member


Third Wednesday of each month at 4:00 pm, Council Chambers in City Hall and are open to the public.


City Health District Board of Health members are appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the city legislative authority. The mayor is president of the board by virtue of office. Board of Health members receive compensation for attending monthly board meetings of a predetermined amount up to $80.00. They are not reimbursed for mileage within the county. They are not eligible for PERS.


Carol Cowan, B.S., REHS
Health Commissioner/Environmental Director


Shelia Moman


Mary Beth Jones, RN
Public Health Nursing Director


Shawn Blair, B.S., EHSIT
Environmental Health


Vikki Anderson
Deputy Registrar


Amy Toot
Housing Inspector


Darlene Kinsey
Community Outreach Coordinator


Matt Devlin
Housing Inspector